Town of Amherst Planning Commission Minutes February 1, 2023

A meeting of the Town of Amherst Planning Commission was called to order by Town Manager McGuffin on February 1, 2023, at 7:00 P.M. in the Council Chambers of Town Hall at 174 S. Main Street.

It was noted that a quorum was present as indicated below:

Р	June Driskill	Р	Michael Driskill
Р	William Jones	Р	John Vandervelde
Р	Anne Webster Day	Р	Nathaniel Holden Chase
Р	Clifford Hart		

Town Manager Sara McGuffin, and Clerk of Council Vicki K. Hunt in her capacity as Secretary, were also present.

Town Manager McGuffin asked for nominations for Chairman. Mr. Jones nominated June Driskill to be Chairman. There being no other nominations, by affirmation the Commission voted 7-0 to elect Ms. Driskill Chairman as follows:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye		

The Chair asked for nominations for Vice Chairman. Mr. Jones nominated Clifford Hart to be Vice Chairman seconded by Ms. Day. There being no other nominations, the motion carried 7-0 to elect Mr. Hart Vice Chairman as follows:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye		

The Chair opened the floor for citizen comments.

There being no one present to speak no comments were made.

Mr. Vandervelde made a motion that was seconded by Mr. Hart to approve the minutes of the January 4, 2023, meeting.

There being no discussion, the motion carried 6-0-1 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day Aye
Michael Driskill	Abstain	John Vandervelde Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye	

Town Manager McGuffin gave a report on an application submitted by Svet and Shah Kanev to rezone 123 Lee Street (Tax Map 96A-416-5) from R-2 to B-1, that would, if approved, allow for a short term rental business on the property, and an application submitted by Svet and Shah Kanev, that would, if approved, allow for a special use permit for short term rental on 123 Lee Street (Tax Map 96 A 416 5).

Svet Kanev and Shah Kanev were present to answer questions.

The Chair opened a duly advertised public hearing at 7:06 P.M., on the application to rezone 123 Lee Street, Amherst, VA, (Tax Map 96 A 416 5) from R-2 to B-1, to allow a short term rental business on the property.

There being no one present who wished to speak on the matter, the public hearing was closed at 7:06 PM.

Ms. Day made a motion that was seconded by Mr. Vandevelde to make a recommendation to Town Council to approve the request to rezone 123 Lee Street, Amherst, VA (Tax Map 96A-416-5) from R-2 to B-1.

After discussion, the motion carried 4-3 according to the following:

June Driskill	Nay	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Nay	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Nay		

The Chair opened a duly advertised hearing at 7:06 PM on the application submitted by Svet and Shah Kanev for a special use permit for 123 Lee Street, Amherst, Virginia (Tax Map 96 A 416 5).

There being no one present who wished to speak on the matter, the public hearing was closed at 7:06 PM.

Mr. Chase made a motion that was seconded by Mr. Vandevelde to make a recommendation to Town Council to approve the request for a special use permit to allow short term rental (Air B&B) at 123 Lee Street, Amherst, Virginia (Tax Map 96A-416-5).

After discussion, the motion carried 4-3 according to the following:

June Driskill	Nay	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Nay	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Nay		

The Chair opened a duly advertised public hearing at 7:15 P.M., on the Town of Amherst FY23-24 Capital Improvement Program proposal that identifies acquisition, construction and improvement of town facilities, and acquisition of capital equipment, copies of which were distributed to the Commissioners.

There being no one present who wished to speak on the matter, the public hearing was closed at 7:24 PM.

After discussion and a report by Town Manager Carter, Mr. Hart made a motion that was seconded by Mr. Chase to make a recommendation to Town Council to approve the Town of Amherst FY23-24 Capital Improvement Program proposal, as recommended by staff.

The motion carried 7-0 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye		

Town Manager McGuffin gave a report on a proposed amendment to Chapter 24 of the Town Code, Zoning and Subdivisions, to add a new code section to Chapter 24 of the Town Code, related to Inoperable Vehicles.

The Chair opened a duly advertised public hearing at 7:25 P.M., on a proposed addition to Chapter 24, Zoning and Subdivisions related to Inoperable Vehicles.

There being no one present who wished to speak on the matter, the public hearing was closed at 7:27 PM.

After discussion, Mr. Chase made a motion that was seconded by Mr. Hart to approve the proposed addition to Chapter 24, Zoning and Subdivisions, related to inoperable vehicles, as recommended by staff.

After discussion, the motion carried 7-0 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye		

After discussion, Mr. Hart made a motion that was seconded by Mr. Chase to make a recommendation to Town Council to approve the proposed addition to Chapter 24, Zoning and Subdivisions, related to inoperable vehicles, as recommended by staff.

After discussion, the motion carried 7-0 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye		

There being no further business, on motion of Mr. Vandervelde which was seconded by Ms. Day and carried 7-0, the meeting adjourned at 7:43 PM, according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye		

June Driskill, Chairperson

Attest: